Dating back to the 1850’s the 37,000 acre Rancho Sisquoc is part of a Mexican land grant, snaking along the Sisquoc River 14 miles east of Santa Maria. The Chumash Indians called this pristine land, “Sisquoc”, meaning gathering place.
And what a gathering place Rancho Sisquoc Winery has become! Originally a cattle ranch with plots of beans and barley, today, over 300 acres are planted in vines. Another piece of history adorns the ranch ~ the San Ramon Chapel, declared as Santa Barbara County’s first State Historical Landmark. Erected in 1875, the chapel still holds Sunday services.
Further down the winding gravel road is the rustic tasting room which was constructed in 1977 and overlooks the entire working cattle ranch and hills beyond the river. Rancho Sisquoc Winery‘s tasting room decor is fashioned after an old western saloon and expands to the outside patio in warm weather months.